Naming the Fishes

A Blog For Name Lovers Everywhere

Names Found In (Books): Bitter Greens

bitter-greensI recently read a great book called Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth, an interesting take on the Rapunzel fairytale told by three women. Its a wonderful blend of history, fairytale and themes such as desire, obsession and redemptive love that makes your heart warm and fuzzy inside. A book not to be missed! Unless of course you don’t enjoy historical fiction or fantasy, then thats okay. I think I’ve come to a point in this blog where I’m trying to sell the book to you, sorry about that!

Anyhoo… But what really got my attention were the fabulous names within with Italian, French, biblical and nature influences.  I’m sure you are here for the names, so I might as well get the show on road.

 

Nature

Alyssum 
Celandine 
Hyacintha 
Jasmine
Margherita
Magnolia
Peony
Petrosinella
Rosa
Viola

French

Athenais
Berthe
Charlotte-Rose
Charite
Persinette

Biblical

Emmanuelle
Pascalina

Seraphina
Theresa

Italian

Abundantia
Alessandra
Bianca
Bonifacia
Carmela
Concetta
Dymphna
Giovanna
Gratiosa
Sibillia
Sperenza
Vita
Yoconda
Zita

Male Names

Antoine
Lucio
Magli
Moliere
Tiziano
Zusto

If you wish for me to do a full profile of one or a couple names, please post your favorites in the comments below.

4 comments on “Names Found In (Books): Bitter Greens

  1. jazzy
    July 31, 2013

    A few days late but if you’re still offering, could you do a profile of Alyssum and Celandine? I actually have characters with those names and it would be interesting to see what the history is behind them :)

    By the way, I’m glad you’re finally back! I’ve been a lurker here for a while now and I enjoy your posts very much.

    • namingthefishes
      August 1, 2013

      I’m also glad to be back! I told myself to do a few posts during the break but I got sidetracked by doing a writing course, plus a Cantonese language class.

      Thank you for being a lurker, it helps to know that I’m not writing to a blank space of the internet. :]

    • namingthefishes
      August 14, 2013

      It turns out another blogger posted about Alyssum recently so I will not do a post on it. But you can look forward to a post on Celandine this coming Monday.

      The link the post about Alyssum is here: http://babynamepondering.blogspot.com.au/2013/08/alyssum.html

  2. Pingback: Names Found In (Books): Bitter Greens | Name Ne...

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2013 by in Articles and tagged , , , , , , .
