Naming the Fishes

A Blog For Name Lovers Everywhere

The Names That I Simply Adore

girl-heart-love-vintage-Favim.com-120615

I thought I might share with you today some of the names that I simply adore. These are the names that I cannot stop myself pondering about: their sounds, spellings, meanings and the overall feeling. It might surprise you, with some of the choices, as I’m always posting about really unusual names. Perhaps I’m a semi-conservative at heart.

Susanna |This is a long term favorite, I love the sprightly and classy nature of this name. It has plenty of nickname options, a big bonus for me: Susie, Suki, Sanna, Annie, Sunny etc etc. I also love the meaning “lily” or “rose” depending on your interpretation. Before Susanna, for a long time the name Lily was my favorite but that feeling slowly waned after hearing it all the time. So it was nice to carry a little bit of that into Susanna. It is also awesome to know that William Shakespeare had a daughter called Susanna (who created my name Olivia). The biblical story doesn’t hurt too.

Eleanor | There is a quiet strength in Eleanor, perhaps influenced by namesakes like Eleanor of Aquitaine and Elinor (Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen).  The spelling and pronunciation is also quite quaint, there doesn’t seem to be many feminine names ending with a ‘r.’ And yes it may seem that the popular nicknames Ellie and Elle are inevitable, but I actually don’t mind them. They are sweet, Nory might be my pick though.

Daisy | Okay this is a recent favorite, but it doesn’t really matter. At first I did not particularly like Daisy because she felt too childish? But couldn’t I say the same about other names that I like, for example Bridie and Essie. It did not make any sense. However after researching the history of the name I became quite enamored of it. I mean “day’s eye” is kind of cool and daisies are a symbol of innocence and gentleness. Plus the flowers are pretty, I’m a sucker for pretty things.

Honorable Mentions: Niamh, Essie, Clara, Miri and Tamar.

Alistair| Yes I first heard this in a video game, and I particularly enjoy the name because of the character among other things. But it has to come from somewhere. Alistair, in my opinion, is very handsome. I love its connection to Alexander “defending men”and the Scottish variant Alasdair. I might prefer Alasdair though, unfortunately I cannot pronounce that ‘d’ in the middle just right. It also satisfies my desire for all things English.

Ezra | I’m honestly not a fan of most masculine names ending in -a, but I’ll make the exception for Ezra. Its fun to say, has a rich history with the great meaning “help.” Although the seed of adoration might have been planted when I first saw Ezra Miller on screen, that isn’t so bad. He is a good actor.

Kit | I actually like this for both sexes, it is rather dashing on a guy. And I would definitely use it on its own, I honestly don’t care that it is a nickname (I’m rather fond of nickname names). I love its 1920s vintage vibe. I know, I know it has been used in other decades! But hey I cannot help but associate it with the roaring 20s, a decade full of flapper girls, jazz and great literature.

Honorable Mentions: Gideon, Tobias, Dimitri and Leo.

So what are your favorite names? And why?

5 comments on “The Names That I Simply Adore

  1. Pingback: The Names That I Simply Adore | Name News | Sco...

  2. meg
    October 11, 2013

    Elizabeth (Elsa, Bess): Such a rich name with history galore. Love the strength associate with Queen Elizabeth’s speech wherein she states she has the heart of a king. The literary characters of Elizabeth Bennet and Bess Marvin also lend their charms. Then there’s Elizabeth Blackwell, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, and Elizabeth Bishop.

    Hypatia: She looks and sounds pleasant, especially with that bright Hy- at the beginning. The meaning also doesn’t hurt the name, and even more estimable would be the Greek philosopher Hypatia. I do love a smart name.

    Grace: Spare and sweet, Grace may bore some. However, family ties to this name as well as the innate elegance make me adore her.

    Orpheus – The Greek mythological figure and ties to music make this uncommon name very attractive. A favored music album also deals with the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice increasing my adoration. The purported meaning also charms me.

    James – As many might also claim, Anne of Green Gables left a deep love for this name in my childhood.

    Ludo/Ludovic/Lewis/Aloysius – A labyrinth beast, two authors, and just general aesthetics make these favored. Ludovic and Aloysius delight my tongue when I say them.

    • namingthefishes
      November 8, 2013

      Lovely names Bess, Ludovic has recently crossed my radar and its very handsome!

  3. waltzingmorethanmatilda
    October 21, 2013

    You have fantastic taste in names – I would let you name my next child for sure, as I love all the names you mention.

    One day I might do a list of names I love on my blog, although I do seem to be sneakily adding them one by one! :)

    • namingthefishes
      November 8, 2013

      Aha, thanks. And you should do a blog! Its fun finding out about everyone’s tastes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2013 by in Articles, Ultimate Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , .
